• WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Cocos nucifera on Madeira Island

Cluster

Hello everyone! First of all this is my first time here and wanted to greet everyone, secondly I am just an amateur that started as simply a curious person for palms overall and more specifically coconuts!

I have been on Madeira (have a house there and go there 2 or 3 times per year) this summer and took a few pictures of the coconuts located in the marine of Funchal.

When I was searching for coconuts one year ago I discovered on this forum that Madeira had some just in front of my nose! It is my belief that this is one if not the northern most region where they survive without extra man care with just the natural conditions (I believe at most maybe watering, don't have the info). On some portuguese meteo forums people have told me there is a place on the northern island of the archipelago (porto santo) where there is at least a coconut in someone's garden, but need to check it out when I go there.

So without further due here I present you two pictures of one of the coconuts, I believe this is a dwarf one, but it seemed to have mini cocos?