IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Help. Bottle Palm tree looks dead or is it possible to make healthy again?

Elliotness

Hello. Im new to planting and I dont know what Im doing wrong that all my palm trees all have black/white spots on the leaves. Also my Bottle Palm Tree looks dead. I don't  think I have a water issue as I have a water sprinkler that turns on every day... Soil always feels a bit moist. I live in zone 9B. Gets plenty of sunlight here in Florida. Maybe its my cheap soil thats bad?

I had no ide about "root flare" until I googled and used youtube. Turns out  I was planting them wrong. I used too much rubber mulch and had covered the roots completely, So I just fixed them all until I saw some roots, exposed to the air. Not sure if I did it right but im sure its way better than before.

2) I also noticed when exposing some roots of the palm trees, I saw tiny white bugs, Almost look like fleas around the roots, and like 3 red roached hiding inside my rubber mulch. Dont know if those critters mean anything but thought I mention it anyway.