IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Chamaerops humilis indoor practices

kbob11

Hi everyone,

This is my first time attempting to grow a Chamaerops humilis indoors.  I am battling a scale problem but aside from that I have noticed the fronds getting darker and darker green.  I keep this indoors for roughly 5 months of the year.  I am posting wondering how others treat this species indoors.  Any tips; watering, lighting, fert would be greatly appreciated! 

DDFDBDC9-FB91-43BA-95AB-60D0A430CCE3.jpeg

F084153F-540A-46A4-92B9-DDD61487F857.jpeg

45379BB2-4C3E-49CF-849D-9F4828C502E9.jpeg

CC339072-BEFC-4D19-BD24-219681A73129.jpeg

Sorry to hear about the scale issue. Have you tried imidacloprid granules ? I typically use Bayer BioAdvanced Tree and Shrub Protect and Feed for something that severe. 

But please use it cautiously, it is a systemic, and ONLY on non-flowering plants, or indoors on houseplants is also fine.

It has a smell at first, but it goes away. 

That in conjunction with physical removal using soapy water and rubbing alcohol is the most common practice to treat scale on a potted plant.