IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Just wanted to share

MattyB

I work as a signage contractor to make a living.  The job consists mostly of reading blueprints, bidding jobs, drawing graphics for approval by architects/customers, fabricating signage and buying custom products from wholesale manufacturers, and installation of the signs.  We mostly do ADA, Braille signage for school construction, or engraved signs for BEQ's (Bachelor Enlisted Quarters) for the military, anything with a lot of doors which need signs at every door.  We also do all the metal building/address lettering, bronze plaques, changeable marquees, etc. that you see at these types of places.  Here's some pics of stuff that we (my Dad and I are partners) have done.

Hedenkamp-023.jpg

Typical ADA raised lettering w/ CA grade II braille sign.  ADA code states that the lettering must contrast 70% w/ the background and be raised a minimum of 1/32".  CA grade II braille is rounded tops and raised 1/40" and it uses contractions and short hand for quicker reading.  Each sign is it's own "one up" custom piece so they are pricey for how small an item they are.

BldgCMatt.jpg