IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Rapa Nui palm - life span?

Margaret S

Hi

A bit of context - I'm a History teacher working on a unit of work on the collapse of the environment & society of Easter Island/ Rapa Nui. I'm hoping that the expert knowledge here can help me out.

I'm working on outlining the cases for & against the accepted view that the colonisers (the Rapa Nui, not European) were completely responsible for the destruction of their environment ('ecocide') between 1200 & 1650 AD through deliberate deforestation & overexploitation. This view is hotly contested in academia, with recent scientific & archaeological evidence undermining the traditional view of human responsibility.

One of the arguments for complete human responsibility is that the palms lived a long time, long enough to reproduce effectively despite seed eating rats, drought & climate change if they weren't chopped down.