mercwalters

chamaedorea metallica discolored leaves help!

mercwalters

I am new to palms and received my first palm, chamaedorea metallica, a week ago from an online seller. upon arrival the plant looked healthy but had some weird looking variegation on its leaves with the metallic sheen portions surrounds by a black border (see below)

as the days have progressed the leaves have gotten a white rim around the metallic sections and very stiff and dry. the plant is still in its nursery pot and needs a repot but i’m trying to let it acclimate first. 

any insights as to what may be going on would be much appreciated!

CE98B535-9C88-4562-8D9C-A2AC703FB9AC.jpeg

8791C48F-60D2-4282-A151-602C7066C805.jpeg

EC179DAE-CF28-4F40-9FDF-8740E877831B.jpeg

lzorrito

Most probably root issues. Possible overwatering...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Similar Content

• Becky
      By Becky
      Hi,
      I bought this (kentia?) palm about 9 weeks ago, knowing literally nothing about plants. It started off doing ok, looking good. But over the last couple of weeks there has been a rapid decline. 

It has started drooping? Yellowing/browning. It just looks really sorry for itself. From what I read overwatering was a major risk so I kept watering to about 500ml once a week (or less if the soil was still damp). 

There is no drainage in the pot and it’s in the soil it came with. It’s kept out of direct sunlight but in a bright room which sits between 20-24oC. I occasionally spray it with a water mist (about 2-3 times a week).