Sign in to follow this  
Dadamanga2

Tahina Export Mechanism

Dadamanga2

Hello all.  I am a long time resident of Madagascar and am particularly interested in the subject of how seeds get out of the country.

Tahina is a great example of this, and I would really like to understand the mechanism that was used to export Tahina seeds, so perhaps some of the people who were involved could please reply?  

The reason why I ask is because I keep seeing photos of Tahina in the various Facebook groups in the gardens of many private collectors, yet, here in Madagascar, this species is more or less unknown and is certainly not widely cultivated.  I do not know of any collectors or private persons here that have any, although, there probably are plants here and there.  If I understand correctly, Kew has been involved in the collection of seeds here in Madagascar, but, I didn't know Kew distributed seeds to private collectors.  I understand that Kew has a collaboration with the Malagasy government, but still, the question about distribution to private collectors remains.  I am not in any way saying that I disagree that seeds should be sent to private collectors, I understand very well the role collectors can play in the conservation of species by ensuring wide ex-situ cultivation therefore improving the chances of survival of a species, but, I am just keen to understand the mechanisms that have been used to distribute seeds of this palm.

In theory, I would have thought, seeds collected in Madagascar would / should have been sent to the SNGF and managed via their international convention with the OECD for collection of forest seeds.

I would really like to understand how it happened / happens.

Thanks and best wishes to all.  I paste below a bit of reference to the SNGF OECD partnership: