Sign in to follow this  
Will

Sabal minor - Too late to plant outside?

Will

Hey,

I just got a small Sabal minor a week ago and was wondering if I can still plant it outside. Would it be better to wait for Spring so it can develop roots for a whole growing season or can I still plant it outside now?

I am located in the Eastern parts of Austria, near to Vienna. So winters might get cold, but shouldn't drop below -12°C / 10°F.

20210729_105849.jpg

• Like 1

ZPalms

I think the general consensus now that it is late to plant in the ground now but if you can provide optimal protection from the elements and stuff then you could probably put it in the ground, I'm sure somebody probably knows more than me but I have 2 Sabal Causiarums on the way and they won't be going into the ground until next spring because I'm a noob still and this is my first winter with palms and I'm scared! :D

• Like 1

PalmatierMeg

I'd advise you to move it to a bigger and much deeper pot and let it grow over the winter. Consider planting next spring when nights no longer fall below freezing. It is still a very small palm to stick in the ground with winter coming on fast.

• Like 1
  • Upvote 2

Will
2 hours ago, PalmatierMeg said:

I'd advise you to move it to a bigger and much deeper pot and let it grow over the winter. Consider planting next spring when nights no longer fall below freezing. It is still a very small palm to stick in the ground with winter coming on fast.

Thank you very much! I already planted it in a bigger pot. I also have some Sabal minor seeds in a growing box. Hopefully they gonna germinate too till next year 

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead