Sign in to follow this  
Firewalker22@yahoo.com

Whats wrong with my Palm Tree Trunk?

Firewalker22@yahoo.com

Can anyone help me please.  I am a newbie. I have a palm tree.  I suddenly noticed a wet looking area at the trunk. There is a small amount of soft rot in the area. Not super deep. Is this a fungus attack?

20210729_112003.thumb.jpg.62d36b8a3d93281dc68417c542964f5a.jpg

Am I Beyond hope?  This developed suddenly. I sprayed with copper fungicide. The tree appears otherwise healthy.

20210729_111840.jpg

SEPalm

Looks like trunk erosion. This is pretty common sometimes in sabal palms. The good news is it doesn’t seem to harm the palm and yours based upon the crown looks very healthy. 

To my knowledge no one knows the exact cause and it does not seem to be fungus related. No treatment or cause for concern is necessary.

A common problem in sabal palms is the sloughing of the "pseudobark" from the outside of the trunk. Once this occurs, further erosion of the trunk tissue can occur, often exposing the vascular bundles and occasionally destroying large sections of trunk (Figure 9). The cause of this problem has not been determined, and no pathogenic fungi have been isolated from affected trunk tissue. It has often been attributed to damage from irrigation sprinklers, but it also occurs on palms that have never been irrigated. It does not appear to have any noticeable effect on palm health or survival.”

https://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/publication/st575

Edited by SEPalm
  • Upvote 1

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

• Similar Content

• jdl