leiling.ng@outlook.com

Kentia Howea palms are drying up

leiling.ng@outlook.com

Hi all,

plant newbie here who got this beautiful Kentia Howea gifted to my birthday. The gardener advised to water every 10 days with 700ml of water, which I closely followed. Over time, I noticed a that the leaves were drying out, so I increased the rate of watering after consulting with my neighbor (who is also well-versed in plantcare).

This went on for 1 month until I left my apartment over the Christmas break. When I returned 1 week later, I noticed that some of the palms had started drying out - they lose their color, turn yellow/grey and crisp. Some of the leaves also develop spots. I tried googling for overwatering symptoms or root rot, but to no avail. When inspecting the roots, the palm seems fine. Couldn't spot any spider mites or other insects either.

I also made sure to water at a more careful pace now and add fertilizer to my water (not sure if this helps). In terms of location, I have moved her around - closer to the window, where she is currently placed, and further out in the corner with less light. Didn't seem to do much of a difference. 

Does anyone of you happen to know what might be going on? It has spread to all the lower palms (i.e. the ones closer to the soil) but now a large palm is affected and I'm really worried it might spread further.

I appreciate any insights.

Thank you,

Lei-Ling 

20210205_183135.jpg

20210205_183102.jpg

20210205_183114.jpg

20210205_183118.jpg

• Like 1

Fusca
1 hour ago, leiling.ng@outlook.com said:

plant newbie here who got this beautiful Kentia Howea gifted to my birthday