joe_OC

Combining my two Passions: Palms & Coffee

joe_OC

Of all my hobbies, palms and espresso making have both endured.  Now I have the opportunity to combine both.  So this espresso tamper is made out of Borassus flabellifer.

1686415435_blackpalmtamper.thumb.jpg.fb3b3fd541e51e26f08937c812fa0eda.jpg

• Like 13
  • Upvote 1

Xenon

Oooo that's neat..maybe another thread for the full setup? :winkie: Coffee is one of my hobbies as well. I'm a grad student so no funds for real espresso but I've been honing my v60 for a while and trying coffee from all over the world. What interests me most about coffee is genetics and resultng taste profile (my field of study is plant breeding).  My current favorite variety is Pink Bourbon, also got some Chiroso and Java coming! So many wildly varying flavor profiles in coffee, definitely a very deep rabbit hole haha 

Edited by Xenon

joe_OC
14 minutes ago, Xenon said:

Oooo that's neat..maybe another thread for the full setup? :winkie: Coffee is one of my hobbies as well. I'm a grad student so no funds for real espresso but I've been honing my v60 for a while and trying coffee from all over the world. What interests me most about coffee is genetics and resultng taste profile (my field of study is plant breeding).  My current favorite variety is Pink Bourbon, also got some Chiroso and Java coming! So many wildly varying flavor profiles in coffee, definitely a very deep rabbit hole haha 

My understanding of Coffea arabica is that the genetic diversity is very low.  But it's amazing the variety of flavor profiles that come from the different growing regions and how the beans are roasted.  Klatch Roasting is my "Go To" roaster for over 15 years.  I don't think it's a surprise that their master roaster is a trained chemist.

JohnAndSancho

That's awesome! The gearhead in me is already thinking about palm interior trim and shift knobs :shaka-2:

joe_OC

image.png.b8dca1dbac6861614161cbaecb9daf3d.png

• Like 2
  • Upvote 1