PsyPalm

Kentia seedlings in leca

PsyPalm

I recently picked up a cluster (20-25) of howea seedlings and separated them into numerous small pots and decided to take a shot at growing them in leca.

I wanted to try out a few different semi-hydro pot/container styles since it's my first time growing these in leca and I wanted to see if some things work better than others.  In the picture from left to right we have:

-Lechuza deltini mini filled with lechuza pon and topped with leca

-White ceramic 4" pot with leca in plastic liner

-White ceramic 3" pot with leca in plastic liner

-4" terra cotta pot with leca submerged in marble water reservoir

-Clear 500ml beaker with pure leca, no plastic liner

If anyone has any tips/advice for growing palms in leca (when/what to feed them..) I'm all ears, I'm pretty new to it all.  I'll keep the thread updated on their progress, thanks guys!

IMG_9221.JPG

image.png

image.png

sashaeffer

I did the same with 1 of same species and did just fine for well over a year, but then lost the palm. I don't think it had anything to do with the leca though.

PsyPalm

Good to know, cheers!

JohnAndSancho

Sorta semi related but my local supermarket has Cat palms for $10. I think I'm gonna buy a pot and some LECA and see what happens. I've seen others have good results with Kentias on here, and my other Cat palms love soaking in water anyway. 

PsyPalm

That's funny, just today my local supermarket stocked some really decent sized cat palms, I was thinking about picking one up myself.  At $10 it's hard not to.

• Like 1

JohnAndSancho
1 minute ago, PsyPalm said:

At $10 it's hard not to.

Kroger? Lol 

They had some pretty beefy snake plants too, stuff that usually sells for $30-40. 

PsyPalm

Welp, ended up caving and bought the cat palm haha, couldn't resist one that size for $10.  Freshly potted and cleaned up :D

IMG_9314.JPG

• Like 1

Join the conversation