IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Bamboo Palm | First Plant

Vicinity

Hey folks. I am new here. I am new to plant care. I received this pretty, tall "Bamboo Palm." I have had issues identifying specifically what it is, so that I can find care tips for it.  All I could really do was get a general sense looking at similar palms (cat?). I thought I was doing terribly because the car ride home stressed it out quite a bit, but its actually held up pretty well the last few months. I noticed some new leaves developing. I live in the pacific northwest.

A lot of tutorials I've seen mention that one should remove dust from the plant? That seems a bit meticulous, as I don't have a traditional feather duster. The seller told me to water it once a week, but it seems to really enjoy me doing this every 3 weeks or so, because the plant has since grown more leaves than when I took this photo. I obtained the plant mid-to-late Autumn

image.png.bb843f396f339db5dd0766b11e99e63d.png