IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Rainbow Eucalyptus (Eucalyptus Deglupta) help/ questions

Uruguay Andy

Hello everyone, I’m new to palmtalk and was looking for any help/tips on planting out some rainbow eucalyptus. I live in the southern hemisphere, Uruguay and right now is the coldest time of the year coming up June and July. 

I recently purchased 50 rainbow trees/ sapplings to plant out. (Bulk lot buy). Trees are anywhere from 6-10 in. tall. I’m looking to make a small forest, but wondering if its better to wait until the middle of August to plant out or plant now. 

I’ve read old posts on this plant saying better to plant out when it is small. But I’m a little worried about if the temperatures drop down to 30 or lower and the winds here in Uruguay. I have 10 other rainbow trees on the property that we planted this summer 2-3 meters tall (most do look like lollipops)but any info on planting out smaller trees now would be very helpful. 

I have found this site very helpful and educating with palms and other plants.

Also Uruguay is in zone 9b 

-Andy

A605900A-5CC5-4AA3-830A-5D0B6E1CC976.jpeg

8AC94CCF-9F2F-463C-A6E9-7F2665A0CFBF.jpeg