Andrew19

Is a sabal palm possible indoors?

Andrew19

Hi everyone, I am an absolute noob and have not attempted at caring for a palm tree yet. I am in Ontario, Canada and take the family to Florida every few years. Each time we go my wife falls in love with the sabal palms down there. I would love to get one for the house, obviously keeping it outside in the warm months and caring for it indoors in the cooler months.

Is it possible to have a potted sabal palm, or would temps and the overall eventual size be an issue? I am open to other types that resemble the sabal if they would be more manageable. 

Thanks and apologies if this is a dumb question. Look forward to spending time with you on this forum :)

Andrew

kinzyjr
15 minutes ago, Andrew19 said:

Hi everyone, I am an absolute noob and have not attempted at caring for a palm tree yet. I am in Ontario, Canada and take the family to Florida every few years. Each time we go my wife falls in love with the sabal palms down there. I would love to get one for the house, obviously keeping it outside in the warm months and caring for it indoors in the cooler months.

Is it possible to have a potted sabal palm, or would temps and the overall eventual size be an issue? I am open to other types that resemble the sabal if they would be more manageable. 

Thanks and apologies if this is a dumb question. Look forward to spending time with you on this forum :)

Andrew

Welcome to the forum!  You should be able to grow them indoors and enjoy them outside during the warmer months.  They grow pretty slowly in pots.  @Rasta Rob has a whole bunch of stuff in his palm room in Ontario.

• Upvote 1

Andrew19

Awesome, ya I've already read some of his stuff. 

Thanks so much:)

• Like 1

Allen

I'm not a indoor palm expert but I think someone could probably jump in here and  recommend a better suited palm for you indoors.

Rickybobby