IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Washingtonia Filifera hybrid?

Padraic

I am new to Palm at Yuma, AZ. Start growing palm. I brought this from Walmart. The tag said it is Washingtonia Filifera, but it doesn't wide like the other. So I am wondering and anyone can confirm what it is?

Washingtonia Filifera hybird3.jpg

Edited by Padraic
re-do the picture 2

US Southwest Zone 10A

The picture isn't great, but from what I can see, it appears to be more Robusta looking than Filifera. So possibly a pure Robusta that has been mislabelled, or more than likely a Filibusta hybrid that is leaning more towards Robusta dominant traits. 

Dry-summer Oceanic climate (9a)

Average annual precipitation - 18.7 inches : Average annual sunshine hours - 1725

They are mislabled...I saw the same palms for sale in my local walmart too. Palm is actually Washingtonia robusta or a hybrid... Washingtonia filifera leaf bases are totally green - NO RED.

aztropic

Mesa,Arizona

• Like 1

Mesa, Arizona

Temps between 29F and 115F each year

I have Robusta, so based on green and red tell them different, good to know. I know the cotton density are different too.