Sign in to follow this  
UK_Palms

Exotic gardening at 51N

UK_Palms

Okay, so I have been a palm enthusiast and exotic gardener for about 4 years now. Most of my palms are still quite young/small, as I am only 26 years old, therefore it's not like I have been growing palms for 20 years or anything. I have only been doing it for a few years. 

At 51N, in the southeast of England, the climate can be a bit of a challenge for me. Summers are generally pretty warm here, but winters can get cold as I am inland, away from the coast. Growing my favourite palm types, such as Phoenix & Washingtonia, can be a bit of a challenge here. Fortunately this winter has been pretty mild for us. Last night the low was 10C (50F) and today we reached a high of 55F (13C). Considering we are in the middle of winter, at lat 51N, that is pretty good weather. We haven't actually had a frost yet, in 2019. But on average, I can generally expect a frost on 1 in 8 winter nights, and I average around 30 frosts a year in total.

The reason for a lot of my palms being containerised is that I am planning to move house in the not too distant future, and I want to be able to take most of them with me. I don't want to go to the effort of planting them in the ground, then having to dig them back up again. Or having to leave them behind altogether. Hence all the pots. I'm sure people will understand. 

All the photos below were taken on 13/01/2019...

Sabal Palmetto

large.FGWX3110.jpg.5ac0b832de17cf8f37682

Trachycarpus Princeps Hybrid

large.5c3b687af07a6_TrachycarpusPrinceps

Phoenix Theophrasti

large.IMG_0018.jpg.2307150000fcb00521add

large.5c30d23abc9b5_Theo2.jpg.c1d2b99d6a

Trachycarpus Fortunei

large.5c3b681440b2f_TrachycarpusFortunei

Trachycarpus Wagnerianus

large.5c3b68b4a922e_TrachycarpusWagneria

Cordyline 'Starburst'

large.5c3b655819436_CordylineStarburst.j

Cordyline 'Pink Passion'

large.5c3b64929716b_CordylinePinkPassion

Left Border

large.5c3b97d9b7c29_Leftborder.jpg.d7ba0