Cindy Adair

Puerto Rican Pampered Feline

Cindy Adair

As many of you know, I am a retired veterinarian. Predictably I had always had multiple pets. However when I made a 7 year plan to retire and move to Puerto Rico I stopped adopting animals in Virginia.

After arriving here in 2015 I realized that there were neighborhood dogs, no way to securely fence my 7 acres and the distinct chance I would need to relocate so did not add any pets.

A few months after I moved to my larger farm here in 2017, hurricane Maria's visit plus plans for travel further postponed adding a cat or dog.

Not long after the Biennial I planned a week long bike riding trip. The day before I met three other members of a PR plant society to carpool to the meeting several hours away. I arrive first at the empty University parking lot, as it was a Sunday at 6:45am. 

The carpool driver arrives and I see a little black kitten run out from under the car! The driver reports that it is a stray kitten from a nearby neighborhood who must have hidden in the engine. As a vet I knew of many severely injured or killed cats from this so was relieved to see the little feline was uninjured. I felt I needed to join the group and did not think of the kitten until our return just before dusk.

She ran towards us from the same place as before only meowing piteously. I asked the driver if he would return her to the neighborhood where she had familiar territory but he felt she would more likely find a home with a student in the parking lot.

Well I know how busy the adjoining road would become the next morning and knew that the chance of a black female kitten (one of many strays in PR) finding a good home was minimal. And a storm was brewing.

That clenched it and she went into a reusable grocery bag in my lap where she began to purr loudly.

You realize I had a flight to catch in little more than 12 hours. I stopped at a convenience store for supplies carrying her inside with me.