IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

RobustaEnvirons

Back around August I gave 3 family members potted Washingtonia Robusta. These family members are complete novices to growing palm trees, so I wrote up an MS Word document of Care Instructions. I tried to write everything in a clear and easy to understand way. I just thought I'd share my Instructions page with the PT community. These people have absolutely no previous experience with growing palm trees. So, I had to explain things and have them grasp what the palm would or could require of them. I realize that Washingtonia Robusta are probably not the best palm to give to somebody as a gift/experiment, but I had the spare seeds so I went for it. I had been successful in growing an keeping alive a potted Washy, so I know they may be able to as well.