IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

NickyB

Hi everyone!

I’m just starting out a palm project (nursery) in Jamaica!!

With a small budget ($200 USD) to purchase some seeds and begin, I’m looking for rare trees that all well sought after. Any recommendations would be great…

I have roughly two acres of land to make use of: 400ft above sea level with year-round sunshine and good weather (tropical climate) 

On my list so far (locally avaible):

• Bismarckia
  • Lipstick, Red Sealing Wax 
  • Triangle 
  • Red Latania
  • Sago
  • Foxtail
  • Travelers 
  • Roebelenii

These are generally what the nurseries out here stock. Any other suggestions would be great!

Currently I have potted roughly 100 Royal palms and 50 Solitaire palms from suckers, I know they are quite common and inexpensive but I am working with whats available at time moment. 

With many palms growing all over the island as you can imagine, I plan to go collecting seeds but haven't been able to do much collecting yet. I will keep you posted with questions and pictures for sure.

Nuff love from Jamaica,

Nicky

• Upvote 1

7 minutes ago, Moose said: