IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Germinating Trachy Seeds

willials

I have a question about germinating T. Fortunei seeds. I am brand new to growing from seed and have read on some sites to keep the seeds slightly moist in a vermiculite type medium for a few weeks in a plastic ziploc bag. Then it said to check them every few weeks and to plant in a tall pot once the seed sprouts. My question is about what constitutes the seed sprouting? I have 2 of 4 seeds where I can just barely see the white sprout popping out of the seed. At what point should I plant them in a pot? What medium/soil should I use in the pot? How deep should I plant the seed in the pot? Thanks for any help/experience you can give.

Hello willials