Wendaddy

Some are OK, some are dying!

Wendaddy

I recently moved into a house in the bay area, CA. There are about a dozen palms around the house. I have no experience with them. To my eyes, many are not doing well. I even found two dead trees, with trunk in the ground. I have pictures taken. I asked my neighbors and someone at Lowes garden department. They mentioned 2014 winter has been cold, so it can be due to freeze damage. The question I have is why these palms 100 feet from each other, but they look very different. Some are OK, some are dying! Palm (1) looks OK. Palm (3) is dying. So far, I had only put palm food in March. What else should I do to save them?

post-9997-0-97004400-1398441968_thumb.jp

post-9997-0-24429300-1398441970_thumb.jp

post-9997-0-30919800-1398441971_thumb.jp

post-9997-0-39385200-1398441972_thumb.jp

Brahea Axel

All the palms shown in your pictures are queens. These are not suffering from frost damage, but from very poor nutrition and lack of water. Buy some specialized palm fertilizer and water properly, and they should green up and regrow nicer crowns.

Wendaddy

Axel, Thanks for your tips. I have more questions. I have fed them Miracle-Gro Shake'n Feed Palm Food 4.5lb and Scotts 20-lb Synthetic Palm Trees Plant Food Granules (8-4-8) at the end of March. I am not sure which is better, but they are both slow release. I prefer the bigger bag just because 2 bags of Miracle-Gro is not enough to feed them all. Instructions says apply every 3 months during growing season. Should I apply more fertilizer for the ones are dying? There are also many plants around the dying one (#3). Could the surrounding plants contribute to the poor nutrition?