IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

A Latin lesson?

cfkingfish

I am no expert by any means, but my minor in college was Latin, and I do have friends and customers who ask me how and why genera and species are pronounced the way they are. I figured Id share!

Anyone who has taken a foriegn language is familar with declensions of verbs, and noun forms. In Latin, nouns are declined just as much as verbs depending on how the word is being used.

There are five declensions of nouns in Latin, and four declensions of verbs. Nouns are what we deal with, so I will stick with that.

1st, 2nd, and third declensions are used most when describing genus and species. Most palm names are neuter - they have neither male nor female attributes in their name. Here is an example: