IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Let's talk about bromeliads

Alicehunter2000

I am new to the world of bromeliads and need an education as to what I can expect to survive up here in North Florida. Do these two plants that I currently own have a y chance of survival? What are the names of these species and what are the cultural requirements......can I stick them in the boots of a palm?

Please show me your broms and tell me if they are commonly available. post-97-0-50688800-1386036724_thumb.jpgpost-97-0-65940200-1386036759_thumb.jpg

David Simms zone 9a on Highway 30a

200 steps from the Gulf in NW Florida

30 ft. elevation and sandy soil

Both of those are less hardy species if I'm not mistaken. I used the info from Googling "hardy bromeliad" and there is a website from the FCBS in Gainesville to get what species do well. Then I bought them at sales at botanical gardens as they are much cheaper there than other places.

-Krishna

Kailua, Oahu HI. Near the beach but dry!

Still have a garden in Zone 9a Inland North Central Florida (Ocala)