IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

California fan palm germination

Rickybobby

I know I never use the proper species name but as a newbie I have a hard time figuring out what half of you post about. 

Anyway been on point lately with my setup 

all these Cali fan palms germinated in a week once again everything from seedman 6E3C910B-3216-44C1-B93D-2E6E18BCD01A.thu

• Upvote 1

California Fan Palm = Washingtonia filifera - that should get you started :)

Nice work on all of your germination successes so far!

Lakeland, FL

USDA Zone 1990: 9a  2012: 9b  2023: 10a | Sunset Zone: 26 | Record Low: 20F/-6.67C (Jan. 1985, Dec.1962) | Record Low USDA Zone: 9a

30-Year Avg. Low: 30F | 30-year Min: 24F

2 minutes ago, kinzyjr said:

California Fan Palm = Washingtonia filifera - that should get you started :)

Nice work on all of your germination successes so far!

I know the names lol I’m for now until I graduate sticking to regular names. And thanks. I couldn’t believe it. These all sprouted within a day of each other