Chamadorea radicalis trying from seed!

32 posts in this topic

DoomsDave sent me some seeds and im germinting(or attempting to) Chamadorea radicalis in my bedroom. Soaked the seeds for a few days and planted not long ago. Now its watering and waiting lol!

House is low 70s so might be slow going, might invest in a warming pad.

20171206_205058.thumb.jpg.209be0877e7faa20171212_174853.thumb.jpg.8eb1bcc6ff3dd8

Low 70s is quite cool.  I typically toss the seeds into a zip-loc baggie filled with damp (not soaking wet) seed-starting medium, place them on top of the water heater, and cover them with an old tee-shirt.  That keeps them around 90F, and I get pretty good germination rates.  I'll move the baggie into the light when they start pushing up through the soil.

Did some research and they seem to think 70 to 90 is the sweet spot range. Ill likely get a warming pad then to help them out. This is my first time germinating palms so mistakes will be made lol. But I'll get through it! Just happy for the learning opportunity :D

70 is not going to cut it. You need to be in the 80s at least. 

How deep are those little planters? Palms put down long radicles. You need containers at least 5-6" deep. Styrofoam cups with drainage holes work. Also, I agree, more heat.

They are like 4.5 and were all I had available. The warming pad will be in soon, and I was planning on potting them up before the root gets too deep. 

Heating pad is working great!20171218_205846.thumb.jpg.c005b3b0854aba

That'll get the job done.  Radicalis put out roots slowly and not really that deep so you won't have an issue with those pots unless the medium gets dry on the bottom from the heating pad, which will then burn the roots.