IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Potential "long shot" cold tolerant palms?

Turtlesteve

So I'm rather new to palms, and live in zone 8A with warm summers (South Carolina USA).  Choices for palms here are somewhat limited.  I'm trying to identify any "long shot" palms worth trying in zone 8 climates.  It would be especially nice to have pinnate palms other than Butia and associated hybrids (and Jubaea).  I am not really intending to zone push, but to identify palms for which tolerance of severe weather may be underestimated.