IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Remove existing palms to make room for another?

Jdiaz31089

I've been toying with this for the past several months: I have a very (very) small front yard, but like most palm people that I know, we like to pack things in pretty tight. I'm not entirely opposed to that idea, but from a design perspective, I'd like to keep the front of the house somewhat visible from the street. When I first removed the lawn, I planted two queen palms - one on either side of the front walkway. Now I'm somewhat regretting planting these queen palms because now I've fallen for beccariophoenix alfredii and I think those would look sooooo much better than the queens. I have 6 of those in 3-gallon containers now. I could plant two of those in that spot next spring. Heck! I've been oogling at the pictures you all post of other potential candidates for the spots where the two queens are: syagrus abreojos, schizophylla x romanzoffiana, butyagrus... etc.