IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Washingtonia robusta seedling

Latinmtl67

Hi guys :D i'm a newbie here and i would like to more something. 

I germinated some seed 2 weeks ago and some of them finally sprouted. 

One of them I noticed at the end of 2 roots it's getting darker.

i used the baggies method with paper towels.

Btw :Today i got my heating pad which i put them on 1 hour ago directly but when i put my hand on it, for me it seems too hot so i place then in a container and then on the pad

here is some pictures

thank you guys in advancei6v92m5ux

Yea, thats too close to the heating pad and you're burning the roots. Get the seeds out of there once they germinate or turn down your timer, or put a towel between the pad and baggies.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm germinating some seed for the first time as well. I have them in paper towels with moist sphagnum moss inside plastic bags. Then placed on a heating pad at 85 degrees. I'm trying Washingtonia filibusta and serenoa repens (silver form).