IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT ABOUT LOGGING IN ×
  • WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Sabal questions

sarasota alex

Hello all. Thanks for having this great forum!

This is my first time posting here. Always been a fan of palms but just recently tried to get serious about learning the subject and made it a hobby. Basically still very new to this.

I collected 15 seeds from two large Sabals growing in front of the Sarasota County Courthouse.

post-3501-1248066743_thumb.jpg

14 of them germinated successfully.

post-3501-1248067198_thumb.jpg

I identified these palms as S. maritima based on the "Field guide to the palms of the Americas" (leaf shape, erect inflorecenses, fruit and trunk size) and based on the variety of pictures I've seen. I'm however skeptical about S. maritimas being common enough in cultivation for the county to plant them.

Three questions I have are:

1. Have I identified these correctly? (I will attach more photos with additional posts)

2. Given the close proximity of lots of S. palmettos (photos coming) how likely is it for these seedlings to be hybrids?

3. Is it time to re-pot? If it is, how should I do it not to damage the seedlings?

• Upvote 1

Dear Alex :)